The Catholic Community of St. Mary of Carmel dates back to 1937 when a young missionary priest from Spain, Father Sebastian Valles, O.C.D., began working with West Dallas Catholics from a small building on Chihuahua Street that served as both church and classroom. When the congregation outgrew its cramped facilities, it acquired a "real" church building from Christ the King Parish.
Father Sebastian's dream of opening a Catholic school was realized in 1944 when the current middle school and convent were built. The Sisters of the Holy Spirit and Mary Immaculate graciously agreed to staff the new St. Mary of Carmel School, and continue to this day in the ministry of serving the community.
In 1973, St. Rita joined St. Mary of Carmel as a "parish partner," offering financial assistance and shared projects to help meet the growing needs of the St. Mary's community. Traditions were established, buildings were added, and dedicated lay teachers joined the staff.
Several generations of children and their families, along with many dedicated priests, Sisters, and lay teachers have passed through St. Mary's doors since 1944. Each person has added unique color and depth to the tapestry that is St. Mary of Carmel School, and each passing year adds a page to its rich history. The tradition of quality Catholic education continues here, and passes from generation to generation.
The strong educational and spiritual foundation that St. Mary's provides is reflected in the accomplishments of its students and alumni. Graduates attend area Catholic schools such as Jesuit College Preparatory, Ursuline Academy, and Bishop Dunne as well as area magnet schools such as Skyline and Townview. St. Mary's strives to build on its rich history in the future by continuing to prepare leaders in the community.